Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Kashiwa, Gamba for final of Emperor's Cup

Gamba Osaka ガンバ大阪 and Kashiwa Reysol 柏レイソル will meet in the finals of the Emperor's Cup as both sides won thrilling semi-final matches.

Reysol came from behind to defeated FC Tokyo FC東京 2-1 as Tadanari Lee scored the winning strike at the eighty-eight minute. After a thrilling J-League season that saw the Gas Men climb to sixth-place, Tatsuya Suzuki extended their hopes for the Emperor's Cup as he gave them the lead just past the half-hour mark. However Reysol stormed back with França leveling the match with twenty-two minutes remaining off the provision of compatriot Alex before Tadanari Lee's winner.

Gamba Osaka defeated Yokohama F. Marinos 横浜F・マリノス 1-0 with a late goal Masato Yamazaki with four minutes remaining in extra-time. Deadlocked without a score after regulation, the F. Marinos were forced to play a man down when Norihisa Shimizu was sent off with his second yellow-card twelve minutes into extra-time.

Kashiwa Reysol 柏レイソル and Gamba Osaka ガンバ大阪 will now decide the Emperor's Cup with the final played at the National Stadium in Tokyo on New Year’s Day.